Research for modular cinema MOC

Update on 9 Aug’10: Close-ups of my cinema here
*************************************

I’ve been thinking about modifying a set to add a new building to my modular street.  Yup, it’s the cinema from 10184 Town Plan. 

Parts I like and intend to use are the sign and frontage cos I like the retro feel.  I think the ticket booth could be  expanded tho, as well as the popcorn n drinks corner. 

Anyway, I was looking to get more ideas and thought to share them here as well.  If you have seen them before, I hope you still find them great.  The three I like best are by  hinckley39, joaquin and evildead1980.

 


7 Responses to Research for modular cinema MOC

  1. Shaun says:

    Reading your blog is not good for my wallet ;-D

  2. amodularlife says:

    Haha, I shall take that as a positive comment that I’m doing something right. 😀

    Do you collect modular series too?

  3. Shaun says:

    Your blog is the one that I get most of the local Lego information now. I am contemplating if I should start collecting modular buildings. Reading your blog makes it extremely tempting. But I reckon it is a little too late for me to start? Since most of the sets have been sold out or selling at a premium now.

    • amodularlife says:

      I love the modular series. So I would say it’s not too late, cos you never know how long the modular series will continue for. In the long term, you may have missed 1 or 2 but then you would still have a great street by the end of it. Grand Emporium & Fire Brigade are still easily available. As for Green Grocer & Cafe Corner, yeah kinda hard to get now. For GG if you want just I think best option is to ship it over from USA. Now it’s free shipping within USA from S@H & you also get a free spaceman magnet and I think the shipping cost is still manageable (plus you could just whack a few more sets to average out the shipping costs). That leaves only CC that you are missing, but then you could always MOC your own cafe, which would also be great fun. (^_^)

      As for being the source of Lego info, can I recommend the local Lego group? Link There are loads of fans you can interact with and you can even join us when we meet up. If you think I’m ‘poisoning’ you, wait until you meet the other hardcore fans… you can even choose by genre… castle, star wars, city, trains, etc.

  4. Shaun says:

    Thank you for the shopping tips ^_^ In fact, I have joined the local lego group but didn’t see the latest shopping information in there or have I totally missed it? ^_^ Still prefer your blog for the shopping info. But the forum indeed has a lot of poison too. -_-“

    • amodularlife says:

      You are most welcome. Just doing my part to stimulate the local economy, haha. Seriously tho, I’m sure the news is there some where. Some of the guys on the forums are serious shoppers. 🙂

  5. Shaun says:

    Lol…looks like you are a model citizen as well.

    Oh yes, I have seen their mountain of purchases, lego collections and stacks of lego boxes in their store room… amazing ^_^

    I don’t think I see all the information in there, like the recent CK Tang sale? Plus your info seems to be faster as well ^_^ Really appreciate your effforts 🙂

Leave a Reply

