Book Review: The LEGO Book

I did a book review of The LEGO Book last year on the SG forum (S0937) soon after I got it from Amazon USA (yeah, shipping in is cheaper than getting from SG…).  Re-post here for the benefit of non-SG readers of the blog and for ‘Hon’. 🙂

*************************************

1. LEGO Set No/Name

The LEGO Book by Daniel Lipkowitz

Product Description from Amazon.com
http://www.amazon.com/LEGO-Book-Daniel-L….56628115&sr=8-1

Reveal, explore, and celebrate the fascinating LEGO® story in The LEGO® Book. From its beginnings in a carpenter’s workshop and the development of the first plastic brick, to the group’s current position as an international brand, a timeline highlights key moments in LEGO® history.

Fascinating facts on every significant LEGO® product line, theme park, video game, artwork, competition, club, collectible and more combine with images from the LEGO Group’s photo archives-many seen here for the first time-and inspiring ideas on how to make a variety of things from just a few bricks. Packaged in a beautiful slip case with cutting-edge design, this two-volume set also features Standing Small-a 96-page book celebrating the minifigure.

LEGO, the LEGO logo, the Brick configuration and the Minifigure are trademarks of the LEGO Group. ©2009 The LEGO Group.

Product Details
Hardcover: 200 pages
Publisher: DK ADULT (October 5, 2009)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 0756656230
ISBN-13: 978-0756656232
Product Dimensions: 11.1 x 9.3 x 1.6 inches
Shipping Weight: 4.5 pounds

2. Where you got/bought it from
Amazon.com

3. Offical Retail Price
List Price: USD40.00
Sale Price: USD25.48 (36% off) & this item ships for FREE with Super Saver Shipping.

4. No of Minifigs (if any), name them if you know the names
5. List of parts (if possible), especially the interesting or rare parts, please highlight them
6. Your “building” experience – which you can do a step by step to show it with photos

None. This is a book. :-[
I only got to rip open the box. ::)

7. Lots of relevant photos (max size 640×480 please!!)
[image]

Box from Amazon

Hard cover case
[image]

Front covers
[image]

The Lego Book – Contents Page
[image]

The Lego Book – Pgs 42 & 43
[image]

The Lego Book – Pgs 58 & 59
[image]

The Lego Book – Pgs 68 & 69
[image]

The Lego Book – Pgs 82 & 83
[image]

The Lego Book – Pgs 126 & 127
[image]

The Lego Book – Pgs 144 & 145
[image]

The Lego Book – Pgs 178 & 179
[image]

The Lego Book – Pgs 190 & 191 (note Nicholas’ creation on pg 191)
[image]

Standing Small – Pgs 16 & 17
[image]

Standing Small – Pgs 22 & 23
[image]

8. Your overall rating based on fun, playable, value for $$$, part, minifigs, etc (on a scale of 0-10 where 10 is SUPER-DUPER-SET!)

10/10 – Excellent book! You get 2 fantastic books in one superb hardcover case. The pics are excellent. Gives a great overview of the sets released and themes. Minifig book is kind of sketchy, but then it still gives a good overview and history of the minifig.

A must have for any AFOL.

Would have been better if they had also included an exclusive minifig, but then it’s still a 10/10 for me cos the book is really excellent.

****************************************************

Enjoyed the book review? Do click here to see the list and short intro of other Lego books that I like. 🙂


12 Responses to Book Review: The LEGO Book

  1. Hon says:

    Hi, I’ve actually placed an order for a copy (together with a copy of The Unofficial LEGO Builder’s Guide and LEGO Star Wars: The Visual Dictionary) via amazon.com some time last week and the books arrived yesterday. I’d opened the sealed box just to do a visual inspection of the books and find them in good condition, but I have not started on any of the books yet as I was busy with some other work. However, after reading your review on the book and seeing the pictures of the pages which you have posted, I can’t wait to rush home to start reading.

    I’ve also ordered a copy of LEGO Book Museum via Ebay after reading your post on the list of LEGO books which you like and I’m still waiting in anticipation for the book to arrive.

    The Japanese LEGO Red and Green books seem very interesting and I’ve tried searching for them online but only managed to find them on Amazon Japan. I may have to ask a Japanese colleague of mine to help me place an order since I don’t understand Japanese and the website does not offer any English translation.

    Once again, thank you for sharing your interesting findings.

    – Hon

    • amodularlife says:

      Oh enjoy the books! Let me know what you think after going thru them k? And I thought amazon japan doesn’t ship to sg? Pls let me know if they do so I can get my long awaited copy too. 🙂

      • Hon says:

        Hi, I’ve just finished the book “Standing Small”. I like the pictures in the book and find the nuggets of information about the minifigs very interesting. I’ve never realise that the height of a minifig without hat is exactly 4 bricks high. I’ve yet to start on the Lego Book, but from your review alone I can say that this set of 2 books is a great buy and a must for any fan let alone an AFOL.

        I’m not sure if Amazon Japan ships to SG. If they don’t, I may have to ask my colleague to buy it online for me when he returns to Japan for holidays. Will keep you posted.

        – Hon

      • wongkw says:

        Yes Amazon Japan does directly ships to SG, I got the red and green books from there. I don’t know Japanese, I work around by copying the text and paste into Google translate. The step I didn’t get right was the shipping method which turned out to be DHL, while I received the books in 3 days after ordering, the shipping costs was high and DHL charged me another 7% for GST.

        Another option is to use vPOST which offers a Japan address, but I am not sure about their shipping charges for Japan, the benefit I know is vPost does not charge GST if the total is less than $400.

      • amodularlife says:

        Oh great to hear thanks!

        But I’ll hold out unless I know for sure I won’t be going to Japan cos I’ll rather not spend a bomb just on one book. Hmm, or unless another book comes along that I must have. We’ll see…

        I’m surprised that DHL charged tax tho. I thought the law is that you are not charged unless it exceeds the $ limit.

      • Jonathan Lum says:

        I bought the Japanese LEGO Books while I was in shopping in Lego Outlets, Japan. If you need shipment from Japan on toys or books, do let me know as I do internet shopping from Japan quite often since I used to stay there for years. Now I am back to Motherland, there is a site that we can use to buy from Japan & ship to SGP (i.e Rakuten). If you want price comparison, go to kakaku.com. If you prefer to go to the streets & see for yourself, let me know & i will send you an email.

  2. walsh klien says:

    Wow thanks for this review. Acmamall – http://www.acmamall.com having 27% discount if you buy 2 books! They ship free also! I may go there and get this book yeah!

  3. Juliana says:

    Thanks for the great review! Seeing the contents of these books is like getting further ‘poisoned’ by wanting more LEGO stuff, LOL! I get ‘poisoned’ whenever I browse and re-browse the free copies of LEGO catalogs over the years! 😀

    • amodularlife says:

      I found it really interesting to browse the Lego Collector’s book cos there were so many sets I did not know about (well, I did have a really lengthy dark ages). And it did make me crave for some of the older sets.

      I see from your blog that you have quite a bit of vintage castle sets. Congrats and hope to meet you at one of the gatherings. Always nice to meet an AFFOL! (^_^)

  4. walsh klien says:

    Hey amodularlife, I just got my Lego book yesterday! Thanks for your great review! I really love the book =)

Leave a Reply

