Lego in the news: CBS & The Seattle Times

The Seattle Times

Times when I wonder about attending a Lego convention would be when I read about them and see the photos, such as the article by The Seattle Times on BrickCon 2010.  I won’t reproduce the article here, as there is a note that says: “Permission to reprint or copy this article or photo, other than personal use, must be obtained from The Seattle Times.”

For photos of the exhibits and attendees, do pop by Seattle Times’ Photo Gallery of BrickCon at The Seattle Center

Update: For the latest pics of BrickCon, check out the Flickr page here.  Good stuff in there including video reviews by Nannan Z of Diagon Alley 10217 here (part 1) & here (2).  The stickers are slightly disturbing. 😦

________________________________________________________________

CBS

CBS reports on the phenomenon of AFOLs. Interesting nuggests of info I got from that article include: – TLG estimates there are 40,000 AFOLs worldwide and AFOLs are estimated to account for 5% of Lego sales.

Only 5%? I would have thought more but anyway… you can read more here: Connecting to Legos: Not Just for Kids 

Update: Thanks to efullner who shared on EB that you can view the video here.  If there is a youtube video that I can use to embed, pls let me know. 🙂


6 Responses to Lego in the news: CBS & The Seattle Times

  1. Anonymous says:

    “You know, every woman needs a shoe / bag / dresses walk-in closet,” he said, “but in my world my partner needs a Lego room.” … that’s for you, Ms Modular …

    5% … i think TLG needs to redo their maths … seriously …

  2. Jonathan Lum says:

    argh .. forgot to put my name again for the post …argh !!!!

  3. Dan says:

    Is that 5% of revenue or 5% of sets sold? That number does seem surprisingly low, but I think it could also be a wake up call that adult collectors who actively spend money each month on LEGO is actually a small sub-set of the AFOL community. I think many adult collectors may not actively be buying, whereas millions of kids around the world pine for LEGO every month, and birthdays and holidays fuel that fire.

    Thanks.
    -Dan

  4. delta says:

    I uploaded the CBS video at

  5. amodularlife says:

    Oh what a coincidence I just found the video uploaded by CBS. Thanks tho! (^_^)

Leave a Reply

