Hello Kitty Mega Bloks

I’m feeling kinda traitorous recently… you see, I bought more Mega Bloks sets.  That’s in addition to the Mega Bloks smurfs set I got recently (see post here).

Umm… before you pelt me with rocks (or LEGO bricks, that I don’t mind), let me show you how cute the two Hello Kitty sets are:

Seeing as I don’t think there will be any Hello Kitty LEGO sets in the near future (I checked, the Mega Bloks agreement with Sanrio is for 2 years), I think it isn’t too bad of me to get a few.  What’s more only the smaller ones cos I wanted the minifig. The piece of small brochure included shows what other sets are available (see, I really did get the small ones, just an ‘impulse’ set and the next bigger set):

Quality wise, the Hello Kitty minifig is of far better quality than the smurfette fig I have.  Both in terms of printing and in ‘feel’.  I wonder why? Different factories? Pet peeve tho, the patterned backdrop for the impulse set is a sticker (pre-stuck onto the piece) rather than a printed tile.  Seems to be the case for other sets too (is this a Mega Bloks standard feature?).  

Anyway here’s a shot with Harry Potter to show how tall (short) the Hello Kitty fig is.  Harry Potter is holding the balloon cos Hello Kitty’s arms are not angled correctly to allow her to carry the balloon.

Btw, both  TRU (Hello Kitty House @ S$59.90 /vs $79.90) and Takashimaya (Candy Store @S$19.90/vs $34.90 & Fruits/Flower Shop @S$39.90/vs$59.90) are having special offers on the bigger Hello Kitty sets:

 


10 Responses to Hello Kitty Mega Bloks

  1. walshklien says:

    Haha! My wife through your blog actually got 3 sets of the smurf megablocks =P Luckily she is now really a fan of hello kitty so this should be a miss =P

  2. OCK says:

    hey…lego minfig actually can fit the megablocks studs?

  3. hedgehog says:

    from Lego to Mega Bloks!

    Mega Bloks can’t challenge Lego, so i guess they are using Smurfs & Hello Kitty to get some share.

    you going to collect ’em all (Hello Kitty sets)?

  4. amodularlife says:

    @Walshklien: Oh your wife reads my blog too? That’s nice to know. (^_^) Which three sets did she get?

    @OCK: Yeah, they are fairly compatible. The Mega Bloks can go on LEGO studs too.

    @Hedgehog: Nahhhh… am not really liking the oversized pieces, so probably not. I think… or… what if I MOC a pink Hello Kitty cafe… issit very bad if I use Mega Bloks figs to decorate? Probably huh? =P

  5. Sherraine says:

    Hi,
    Was googling for hello kitty megabloks when I chanced upon ur blog…coincidentally, the ones missing on my list are the 2 which u bgt! (party n swing)…think I’m abit late to discover these cuties as I realise ur entry was dated last dec…

    Do u have any idea where I can still get those 2? I always got mine from isetan but apparently they do not have the full range now…

    I’m an big fan of kitty n wants to build my dream home too…it’s really a bonus tt my dream home incorporates kitty…lol! Grateful if u have some insight:)

    Thanks in advance! 🙂

    Regards,
    Sherraine

Leave a Reply

