Hasbro’s Transformers Fight For Construction Glory

News of Hasbro’s new Transformer series of construction toys seem to be making quite a splash.  I’d always thought it’ll be cool to have the Transformer toys in LEGO form… perhaps with Optimus Prime as a UCS set… sadly, it’s not to be since Hasbro has gotten the licence… the consolation?  It’s LEGO bricks compatible so perhaps the Transformers will be visiting my LEGO town after all. 😛

Here are some pics and a summary of what to expect from this line:

  • The new line called Kre-O that’s compatible with Lego blocks.
  • The line will launch with 12 Transformers sets including Optimus Prime and Bumblebee.
  • Each Transformer set comes with two sets of instructions so the same bricks build the vehicle version of the Transformer as well as the robot version.
  • Prices range from $6.99 to $59.99.
  • Hasbro plans to expand Kre-Os to its other brands eventually.

What do you think?  Will you get some sets to play with?  I’ll probably get one at least to try out the quality and playability before deciding if I would get more… of course, if it was LEGO Transformers, then there wouldn’t be any hesitation… alas… 😦  Oh well, more official set pics and prices from Tformers if you are interested.  I actually think some of the sets look pretty good.

And how about the Dr Who range of LEGO compatible toys that I blogged about some time ago?  I found a review of the Dr Who playsets by Active Dad and thought some of you (from UK?)might be interested to know more… after seeing more of the sets, I’ve to admit I’m no longer interested.  LEGO still rocks for me. 😀

Source: http://abcnews.go.com/Business/wireStory?id=12902487 and pic from http://www.seibertron.com/transformers/news/toy-fair-2011-coverage-speed-stars-and-little-bit-of-everything-else/20812/


11 Responses to Hasbro’s Transformers Fight For Construction Glory

  1. Nick Yap says:

    The closeted Transformers fanboy in me is screaming out: “WAH LAU! COOL!” from the photographs. Optimus does look very sexy.

    But again, you are right, not too sure about the quality of the bricks. Wouldn’t want to transform it halfway to have the entire model to fall apart or bricks to crack.

    This reminds me of the another Diablock’s Optimus released a while ago: http://www.toywizard.net/blogs/wp-content/uploads/2007/07/dia01.jpg

  2. juppy says:

    the optimus prime minifig looks awesome! any idea when will it be released in singapore?

  3. OCK says:

    How many versions of optimus and bubblebee reissue do we need?

    They are just milking the TF and some lego afols… Honestly i think this lost the touch and feel of vintage G1 TF

  4. Looks interesting. It seems like they are really making an effort to be compatible with LEGO! So many of the pieces appear to be exact copies! 😉

    I’m not so much interested in clone bricks, but I’m interested in other brand’s minifig and minifig accessories. It seems like clones are more tolerated in the minifig customization arena. Clone bricks are a serious no-no for most LEGO fans. 😀

    Here is a really transforming LEGO version of Optimus by Orion Pax. This me likes! 😉
    Optimus Prime

  5. amodularlife says:

    @Nick: Yeah, didn’t expect it to be transformable… which is really too bad for a ‘transformer’ toy… but since I can’t see myself creating a LEGO Optimus Prime all by myself this is probably as good as it gets for me?? 😛

    @juppy: Maybe you can ask Toystation? I’m sure if enough fans indicate interest they’ll bring some in.

    @OCK: Errrr… since I’ve never had a transformer toy before, I’m quite happy with this.Haha, so I’m the LEGO fan cross-over market I guess. 😛

    @Akunthita: I’m belong to the “all or nothing” category I guess… either strictly ALL LEGO only, or anything goes… non-LEGO is non-LEGO to me, whether from a clone brand or LEGO customiser. Tho so far I’ve been very good! No non-LEGO pieces in my collection. May change soon tho. 😉

  6. walsh klien says:

    nice! But I would have hoped TLG (maybe Japan) did this product, they could probably come up with fancy stuff like transforming!

  7. Wong says:

    Will they come up with Kre-O version on Cybertron City for the Autobots – transit systems and space bridge. How about more characters on the way – Wheeljack, Shockwave, Dinobots, Constructicons, Blurr, Hot Rod, etc.

  8. amodularlife says:

    @walshklien: Yeah, the lack of transforming ability is quite disappointing… have u read FBTB’s Ryan’s take on the Kre-O line?
    http://www.fbtb.net/2011/02/16/kre-o-and-the-elephant-in-the-room/

    @wong: Erm… I really don’t know… I’m not really a transformer fan so I only know Optimus Prime n Bumblebee (thanks to my nephew).

Leave a Reply

