My Modular Pizza Corner

Continuing my ‘modularisation’ of official City sets, I worked on 7641 City Corner so that my Legolings can finally get some pizza.  So here it is, and hope you like it too.

Completed this a while back, but haven’t had time to sit down and edit the photos until now. Didn’t have time to play and come up with some story, so just pics with some fun shots further down.

1st floor: Has some bar tables, a lovers seat, and the all important kitchen. Back of the pizzeria has garbage bin and is where the pizza delivery biker boy picks up his next order from. Stairs out on the left leads to the 2nd floor…

2nd floor: Not much going on, just a table and a small toilet under the stairs and a. Actually I added some display shelf with vase etc but am too lazy to re-take interior pics. Update: Photo added below

3rd floor: Alfresco dining! Also added a small shelf for the service staff to put water n cutlery, but again… the lazy bug is strong. 😛 Update: Photo added below

The front, back and sides

Top Views

Fun shots and interiors – Views you would see if you were minifig sized… or able to climb onto ceilings (!)…

Pavement view:

While standing at the entrance…

View of kitchen, that comes with oven (pizza baking inside), stove, sink (but missing one corner oops), cupboard above (for putting cups) and a service counter with flip top.

Pizza delivery boy… pizza included of course (just realised I’d also modified the bike to include pizza displays on the sides, but forgot to take pics! Oops!)

2nd floor just has one lonely customer… like I mentioned earlier, I added a shelf and some small decors post-photo shoot. So it doesn’t look as empty as it does in this pic any more.

Update: Photo added to show the shelf I added

3rd floor of pizzeria features alfresco rooftop dining and looks a lot busier:

Update: Photo added to show the service table for cups, etc

Close-up of 1st floor awnings – Yup, in case you haven’t guess, the red and black awning is the last minute addition that caused me to re-shoot almost all of the exterior pics. I do like it very much tho, cos it adds a lot of the ‘pizzeria’ feel to this shop.

Original version before I thought of doing the awnings – I took a pic next to the box to show the modifications from the original set. As usual I’d kept elements of the original set since the intent is really to have a modular version of the original TLG version.  As you can see, loads of similarities which is also one of the reasons why I like this MOC so much. It’s instantly recognisable as the Pizza Store from the City Corner, but in a modular form. Plus I took a relatively short time to do this up…  

Bonus shot – I brought my pizzeria to a local meet-up and ‘Chong Cheng’ was very kind to bring along some of his lovely ladies to pose as pizzeria waitresses (and to sleaze up the place, haha).

Stuff I don’t Like so much… Well… I thought of re-doing the stairs on the 2nd floor (which meant tearing up everything and re-building basically) so that the 2nd floor is more spacious.  I really need tiles, and not just for the floor tiling and pavement which would really enhance the look of the MOC I think.  Would also have been fun to experiment with different colored awnings but as it is I had just enough 1×4 tiles in red and black to do the awning but then the overall building looks kinda ‘dark’ now… not nearly as cheerful as I would like it to be.

My other modular creations: Links to my other modular creations

6 Responses to My Modular Pizza Corner

  1. cocomo says:

    Love the way you modular your pizza corner. I just learn about the modular lego like cafe corner, GG, and many more. However, they are all very expensive. Will there be sale for this type of collection?

    • amodularlife says:

      – Cafe Corner and Market Street are no longer in production so new sets are hard to come by and expensive. No chance of sale I think. ToyStation has a few Cafe Corners still but you will have to shell out quite a bit for them.
      – Green Grocer are hard to find in SG and expensive but still available in USA. You can ship in via vpost or borderlinx but hurry tho cos production may end any time. Again no chance of sale.
      – Fire Brigade is on 20% offer for ToysHunt members for Sep and Oct.
      – Grand emporium possible to get discount at specialty store sales but if you are member usually can get at 10% off.
      Hope this helps and good luck!

  2. Paul says:

    Really pretty! I did mine up but I didn’t have enough red so I left the doors open on the ground floor. Left the top floor as an attic for the chef to sleep in 🙂

  3. Carlos says:

    Absolutely awesome. I have this set but after looking at your pics, i’m really stoked to rebuild it again to mimic your setup.

    Is there a lot of additional bricks require to build to ur specs? I wish i have the instructions from you….thanks

Leave a comment