My modular Winter Toy Shop

This post is in response to a request from an EB member who wanted a closer look at the modular winter toy shop in the street pic I posted in my modular corner cinema entry (Link  to post).

Actually, haven’t found a purpose for it yet, so not a toy shop (since there will be a TRU in my town 😉 ) and the interiors are not done up too. But 1st some background…

1st Version – Winter Toy Emporium

This is my first modular MOC, or rather, the 2nd incarnation of it.

My first originally looked like this, and actually came complete with interiors, winter landscaping and little scenes that I found amusing (I especially liked the last pic below). I named it ‘Winter Toy Emporium’ and worked on it around October 2009, just after the Winter Toy Shop (10199) was available. 

This took 2 sets of Winter Toy Shops and 2 sets of Harry Potter Shrieking Shack (4756):

2nd version – Unnamed White Building

Somehow, I found  the building lacking and besides I really didn’t have space to keep it displayed.

So still using the parts from the 2 Winter Toy Shops (10199), I decided on a mostly white themed building that still retained the stuff I loved in 10199 – the distinctive roof and the red and white awnings.  I also kept the chimney and fireplace. It also comes with a 3rd floor living quarters for the shop owner, and an attic storage area.

I think you’ll agree the 2nd version is a lot girlier… not sure if by conscious or unconscious design but I do like it that way – hey, whatever I can do to make my town more comfy for ladies k? 😛

I thought of making it a lingerie store, but I really didn’t have enought princess leia or mermaid torsos to make that happen. So the possibilities now are either a clothing store (ladies of course!) or a nice cafe, y’know, the kind where gals love to get their dose of desserts?  But it’s not gonna happen unless I get a huge order of Bricklink parts…

You may have noticed that it looks kinda lopsided? It’s something I struggled with but couldn’t fix without taking away the part I like most about the 10199 -the roof.  So my ‘solution’ is to put it next to a shorter building, like my cinema or Marketstreet… some new street views:

Update on 16 Aug: Realised I forgot that the white building works as a double storey building too. So a few quick snaps today, and in black and white background just for variety. 🙂

15 Responses to My modular Winter Toy Shop

  1. Jonathan Lum says:

    This is the site that I go to watch to see whether certain City sets are worth buying .. You got to see what’s in their room … the background … the way they put cloth on the table before pouring out the bricks to build them. As promised, here are the links to that can help to CONVINCE ppl on Modular Sets ..

    1. Cafe Corner – http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=W5Vrx4RTNeo
    2. Grand Emporium – http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=haj5SpAUeFE&feature=related
    3. Fire Brigade – http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SDNSvt8fQ-o&feature=related
    4. Town Plan – http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yYRbRGOaWXw&feature=related
    5. Green Grocer – http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dPfO8U6Pi_Q&feature=related
    6. Market Street – http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0Asm4mE-GIM

  2. OCK says:

    tarazz…with overweight charges so total abt 300

    • daibouken says:

      hi ock,sorry its pretty late but how much is the shipping costs alone for something like green grocer from tarazz? Cuz i will get the emporium from them soon and wonder will it end up almost same price as buying in shops here.

  3. Jonathan Lum says:

    OCK .. we should get in touch .. but how ? what’s your email .. ?

  4. OCK says:

    Haha… As i said earlier i cannot be consider hardcore… I dont have that many sets…even if i take out all the smaller boxes in the big box also dont know got 1 layer of hers….

    This hobby is exp… I have spend almost 4k in 3 months. And i keep surfing ebay etc when i am free….

    I am active in another forum. You can find me there. Saintock

  5. a-lick says:

    I like the white building, perhaps you could have the little attic roof a bit higher to be able to center the main roof so it fits a bit better in the modular style…

  6. Hey there! I just wanted to ask if you ever have any issues with hackers?
    My last blog (wordpress) was hacked and I ended up losing several weeks of hard work due to no back up.

    Do you have any solutions to stop hackers?

  7. Tremendous issues here. I am very satisfied to peer your article.

    Thanks a lot and I’m taking a look forward to contact you. Will you please
    drop me a mail?

Leave a comment