iPhone apps for the AFOL

Getting an iPhone has made a noticeable difference to my lifestyle.  Being addicted to it aside, there are a number of useful apps for AFOLs that I would like to share here. 

  1. This is not an app in that sense. I love Safari browser for giving me the freedom to surf the internet on the go. I do visit online forums and check my blog (stats) more often too. Only problem is typing is very fiddly and sometimes I can’t even read what I’ve typed.
  2. WordPress app gives me the freedom to blog on the go, as you may have noticed. It’s much easier to snap a few quick (well, and often blurry) photos for a quick post.  Much easier to check for new comments too.
  3. Apart from Mobile Brickset, there is now a iBrickset app. The problem is, the iBrickset app doesn’t seem to be able to show more than 200 sets owned at any time (I have over 800).  But I do find it really useful to be able to check from Brickset online using Safari if I already have a certain set when I go shopping.
  4. Proboards, which is where my local Lego forum is hosted on supposedly has an app. Unfortunately that is not available in Singapore currently.
  5. Lego Photo allows you to make quick mosiacs of photos. Free too.
  6. PhotoFunia is a fairly fun photo software that has one effect called (what else?) – Lego. It shows a guy doing a Lego mosiac and the effect is really quite real looking.
  7. BrickJournal has an app but so far nothing interesting.

So of the above, I would recommend Lego Photo and WordPress app (if you blog). The rest aren’t there yet… and basically can just use Safari browser. Many websites (e.g. Eurobricks) also have a mobile browser functionality.  

Do you have more apps to share? If yes, pls share by leaving a comment!

One Response to iPhone apps for the AFOL

  1. Spiderstu says:

    There is also a Brickset Mobile app for the iPhone, iPod and iPad. Unlike iBrickset it downloads the brickset database to the iphone so you can browse and record sets without an Internet connection. Really good for places like toys r us where mobiles don’t get good reception. It is a universal app, so works natively on the iPad as well. Also includes RSS feeds from Brickset.com

Leave a comment