I’ve got a lovely new home…

… that has been awfully distracting.  I realise it’s been some time since I blogged but if you have noticed from the sidebar, loads of stuff on my other renovation blog.  If you haven’t… a little sneak peek here:

That’s the study… if you are interested to see more, here are the rest of the rooms:

And finally, my place featured on my IDs’ website:

My LEGO room and modular collection isn’t fully unpacked, if you are wondering at the lack of LEGO around the apartment. 😛

P.S. Y’know… the lack of leaked pics about 2012 sets is quite surprising… did I miss anything?


13 Responses to I’ve got a lovely new home…

  1. Karen says:

    I’m envious! Where is this place and how much did you get it for? am still saving up for my dream house. Any advice would be appreciated. Thanks!

  2. Barb says:

    I love it all! Thanks for sharing! Oh, where did the balcony light blocks come from? How are they powered? 🙂

    • amodularlife says:

      @Barb: I got from from this place called Contatdecor in Singapore. They are re-chargeable battery powered. So I just plug them using the power cord to the electricity outlet if I need to re-charge them. So far they seem to last really long on each charge.

  3. Karen says:

    on a second look at the pic, I see your leggo sets on the shelves!! How much is the renovation cost and the cost to o up a special room for lego ? Its nice!

    • amodularlife says:

      @Karen: I’m not sure how much the LEGO room costs… probably a fair bit if you consider the apartment cost. Actual cost reno wise the sliding doors cost a few thousands (can’t remember the breakdown) and the shelves in the study less than $1K (had to be sufficiently thick to be wall mounted and to support the weight of the modulars. I calculated and actually think it’s cheaper to just rent those storage for my LEGO than to have a dedicated room in the house… but then I lose the convenience of easy access.

  4. Your new place looks good! Only misses the LEGO! 🙂

    There are quite a few leaked pictures listed right now on Bricklink: http://www.bricklink.com/message.asp?ID=575304

    The new Ninjago sets are full of interesting parts, accessories, and figs.
    The Friends girly sets actually look quite nice. Not all covered in pink syrup!
    The new Dino sets are pictures.
    There are also pictures of some City sets and also Creator and Technic.
    There are also some StarWars images, but I’m sure that’s not all, as Queen Amidala is not there.
    From the Super Heroes line only the large figs are revealed, not the regular sets.

    I think that was all, still enough to wet the appetite. 😉

  5. Oh, I just found some better links with more images! See here: http://smashing-bricks.com/2011/09/14/lego-2012-sets-sneak-peek/

    DUPLO, more City, the Star Wars Planet sets, LEGO Games, Hero Factory, Racers, and just a teaser of Disney Princess sets. The rest are the same as on the Bricklink page.

    Enjoy! 😀

  6. walsh klien says:

    So… when will the house warming be? Are we invited hahaha! I love your home! Always wanted a maisonette type of house! Very Impressed!

    Oh yeah some comments:
    Queen’s mirror in guest toilet: you really know how to pamper your guest haha!
    Study room: I don’t think you can do much studying in there quite frankly … maybe Lego building?
    Lego room: needs Lego!!! Hahaha =)

    Happy for you! =)

  7. Karen says:

    Thanks for the reply! I think you’ve spent a good deal in renovation. Care to tell us an approximate. I think the property prices are cooling down. But no idea about reno. I think I have heard a good number of scams for renovation too. Have to be cautious. Love your legos!

  8. amodularlife says:

    @walsh klien: I still need to unpack! And then I’ll be extremely busy in Oct… don’t think I can really enjoy my new place till year-end when I clear my leave. 😦

    @Karen: Do pop by Renotalk’s T-blog if you want to learn more about renovation and costs. You can’t quite do an apple to apple comparison anyway unless you have a maisonette of the same size and config.

    Hmm… Let’s just say that the reno costs enough to make me consider selling my complete set of MISB modulars.

  9. Karen says:

    thanks for the reply. But I don’t know how large is your MISB modulars, so I can’t do an estimate. But I believe its very expensive. Just that I have little idea what is the cost range. I rarely trust those contractors, and neither do I trust property agents for the price trends. I believe its falling but they tend to say it isn’t. Maybe it isn’t in the trendy areas ? Can’t trust sales people these days.

Leave a Reply

